/ Jana Völker

Chiara Saffirio receives the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize


Prof. Dr. Chiara Saffirio

At the International Congress on Mathematical Physics (ICMP) in Geneva, Prof. Dr. Chiara Saffirio was awarded the Young Scientist Prize of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) «for her important contributions towards the mathematical understanding of the dynamics of classical and quantum many-body systems, leading to rigorous derivations of effective evolution equations».

Since 2007 the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize has been awarded every three years to scientists who have performed original work of outstanding scientific quality within no more than eight years following their Ph.D.

Prof. Dr. Saffirio is an assistant professor at the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science of the University of Basel since 2019. As head of the mathematical physics research group she particularly focusses on the derivation from many-body dynamics of the Boltzmann equation for rarefied gases, the Hartree-Fock equation for fermions, the Vlasov-Poisson equation for non-collisional plasmas and the Landau equation for collisional plasmas.